Indigenous Education Advisory Committee (IEAC)

What is the Indigenous Education Advisory Committee (IEAC)?

In 2014, through the Ontario First Nation, Métis, and Inuit Education Policy Framework Implementation Plan, the Ministry of Education indicated that all school boards would establish formalized processes, such as establishing IEACs to support local implementation of the framework. IEAC would provide guidance to school boards and schools in building stronger relationships with their communities, sharing information, identifying promising practices, and enhancing collaborative work to support First Nation, Métis, and Inuit student achievement and well-being.

Board Policy and Administrative Procedure

Ministry of Education Documents

Self-Indentification Pamphlet

SNCDSB IEAC's Focus is to:

  • Increase ALL student and staff awareness, knowledge and understanding of Indigenous culture, history, contributions and perspectives.
  • Build and strengthen meaningful partnerships between SNCDSB and our Indigenous communities and organizations.
  • Improve academic outcomes and wellbeing for SNCDSB Indigenous students.
  • Educate and promote Indigenous Self-Identification.

How Many Times does the IEAC Meet?

The IEAC Committee meets at least four times every school year. Committee members can attend meetings either in person or via teleconference or Zoom.

Who Can Join?

Parents or guardians of students who self-identify as First Nation, Métis or Inuit. First Nations, Métis or Inuit community partners and community members.

Who Are the Current Members?

  • Judy Wawia, Chair
    Red Rock Indian Band
  • Victor Chapis
    Ginoogaming First Nation
  • Martha Taylor,
    Ginoogaming First Nation
  • Victor Chapais,
    Ginoogaming First Nation
  • Malcolm Charles,  Ginoogaming First Nation
  • Tara Hardy, Red Rock Indian Band
  • Randi Ray, Wabun Tribal Council,
    Flying Post First Nation
  • Valerie Auger
    Pays Plat First Nation
  • Brandy Brake-Weldon
    Dilico - Manager & Parent
  • Kerry McLaughlin,
    Métis Nation of Ontario
  • Norman Lesperance, Councillor Red Rock Indian Band
  • Marilyn Netemegesic, Elder Rocky Bay/Red Rock Indian Band
  • Skylene Metatawabin
    Matawa Education
  • Shirley Jean
    Trustee SNCDSB
  • Patti Pella
    Ministry of Education
  • Joshua LeClair, Kenoomaadziwin Education Body
  • Susan Baril, Flying Post First Nation
  • Marlo Beaucage, Wabun Tribal Council
  • Pam Hardy, Parent St. Edward Catholic School
  • Crystal Gionette, Parent St. Edward School
  • Maria Vasanelli
    Director SNCDSB
  • Paul Tsekouras
    Superintendent - SNCDSB
  • Ashley Muir
    Indigenous Education Lead SNCDSB
  • Elizabeth Michano
    Native Language Teacher
  • Danielle Bond Attendance Counsellor

Principal Representative & Teacher Representative based on meeting location

Where are the meetings?

Meeting locations rotate and are held either at St Edward School, Pays Plat First Nation, Lake Helen or in Ginoogaming First Nation.

All meetings are open to the public and we encourage all of our community members to attend.

Indigenous Education Advisory Committee Contacts

Paul Tsekouras

Paul Tsekouras
Superintendent of Education
Catholic Education Centre
Terrace Bay, ON

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.